In-Person or Mail
You may pay your fine in person during court sessions only.
By mail at the below address:
Brown County Joint Municipal Court
5718 Dickinson Rd
De Pere, WI 54115
Cash, Checks, Money Order & Credit/Debit cards are accepted for in person payments. There will be a nonrefundable convenience fee when paying with a credit/debit card.
PLEASE MAKE YOUR CHECK PAYABLE TO: BROWN COUNTY JOINT MUNICIPAL COURT
The Brown County Joint Municipal Court offers the option to pay forfeitures/costs via credit/debit card online through WWW.GovPayNet.com or calling GovPayNet at 1-888-604-7888 with PLC #7750. There is a nonrefundable convenience fee to use this service. Do not add the convenience fee, as the fee will be added at the end of the transaction.
Note: WWW.GovPayNet.com is an independent company that charges a fee for its services. This fee may change at any time. The Brown County Joint Municipal Court does not receive the additional fees for this service.
You will need your citation number in order to pay online. Not sure of your citation number, contact the court clerk at 920-660-2331.
Cases forwarded to the State Debt Collection must be paid directly to WI State Revenue-State Debt Collection Site and mailed to:
WI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 8910
MADISON WI 53708-8910
Please contact the Brown County Joint Municipal Court at 920-660-2331 for further information or questions regarding online payments.
The alternative sentence for failure to pay was provided on the Defendant's Notice of Judgment that was given to you at your initial appearance, mailed to you after your pretrial, or given to you at trial. This notice also was mailed to you if you failed to appear for your initial appearance. If you fail to pay the forfeiture assessed against you, the court may send you to jail, may suspend your driving privileges and/or forward the balance due to the State Debt Collection (SDC).
If there is a suspension of your driver's license and/or ability to obtain a driver's license, you must first pay the forfeiture. After the forfeiture is paid, the court will transmit to the DMV that the suspension should be lifted. After 48 hours you will be allowed to reinstate at your local DMV center. You will not be valid until you pay the reinstatement fee of $60.00 at your local DMV center. You can reinstate by either going to DMV center in person or online. (The fee charged by the DMV may change).
If you fail to pay your forfeiture and jail is the alternative sentence you will receive a Summons by mail to appear at a Good Cause Hearing. If you appear at this hearing the Judge will ask you a series of questions and may give you a further payment extension. If you fail to appear at this hearing, a Writ of Commitment will be issued for your arrest.
If you fail to pay your forfeiture, we will also attempt to collect the money owed to us from your State taxes via the Tax Refund Intercept Program otherwise known as "TRIP" and/or SDC (State Debt Collection) program. This program allows us to certify your debt with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. The debt will remain certified to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue until it is paid in full.
Municipal Court Records
BROWN COUNTY JOINT MUNICIPAL COURT
PUBLIC RECORDS ACCESS POLICY AND PROCEDURE
All records of the Municipal Court, except those that are specifically exempted by law,
are open to the public.
The Municipal Court Clerk is the Records Custodian for this Municipal Court.
Please complete the attached form Open Records Form
Requests are to be made by Email at [email protected] or by mail to 5718 Dickinson Road, De Pere, WI 54115.
Copies will be made by the court clerk. A written explanation will be provided whenever a request to review or copy of records is denied.
If fees apply to record requests, all payments must be made before records will be released.
- Files or records for non-traffic cases that involve juveniles, as defendants are open only to the defendant, the defendant’s parents, or individuals who are specifically authorized in writing by the Juvenile Branch of the Circuit Court to view these records.
- Records that are not normally produced and maintained by the court in the form requested may be denied.
- Police reports are maintained and requested through the police department, please contact the Brown County Sheriff's Department for records.
The State of Wisconsin has developed a second debt program designed to assist agencies in collection of money owed to them. 2009 Wisconsin Act 28 authorizes the State Debt Collection (SDC) program allowing state agencies to partner with the Department of Revenue (DOR) in collection of debt to enhance current collections operations.
Brown County Joint Municipal Court uses the SDC program for older debts, debts that are considered uncollectable in TRIP, and/or debt that remains after the driver's license suspension time has run (1 year). If you were a juvenile at the time a citation was issued, we can send your unpaid debt to SDC once you reach the age of 18 years of age. It is a more aggressive debt collection program than TRIP.
A delinquent collection fee of 15% of the unpaid balance or $35.00, whichever is greater, will be added to your account. Collection action may include one or all for the following, some of which will result in additional fess being added to your account:
Interception of your Wisconsin Tax Refunds;
Attachment of wages or other compensation being paid to you;
Garnishment, seizure or levy against your property, including bank accounts and IRA' s; and Filing a delinquent tax warrant with the Clerk of Courts in the county in which you reside and/or property. This warrant will act as judgment and lien on any real and personal property that you own and may affect your credit rating.
SDC program will collect monies on the unpaid fine on our behalf until it’s paid in full.
Also, once we send you to the SDC program, we cannot collect any monies on your behalf in our office. All payments must be arranged with State of Wisconsin-SDC program.
HOW DO YOU KNOW IF WE ARE SENDING YOUR DEBT TO THE SDC PROGRAM: You will receive a letter from us giving you 60 days to pay the fine and if you don't pay the fine within 60 days of the date of that letter, we will then refer you to a DOR (Department of Revenue) agent for collection action.
For more information pertaining to SDC, please call (608) 264-0345 or go to SDC FAQs. https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Individuals/home.aspx
To create a My Tax Account login and make SDC payment go to SDC Payment w/ login.
To make a payment without a My Tax Account login go to SDC Payment without login. https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/NonTax/_/ or mail payment to:
WI DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
PO BOX 8910
MADISON WI 53708-8910
Municipal Court Resources
|Ashwaubenon Municipal Court
2115 Holmgren Way
|Allouez Municipal Court
1900 Libal St
|Bellevue Municipal Court
3100 Eaton Rd
|Brown County Clerk of Courts
100 S Jefferson St
|Brown County District Atty
300 E Walnut St
|Brown County Human Services
|Brown County Jail
3030 W Curry Lane
|Brown County Joint Municipal Ct
P O Box 12322
|De Pere Municipal Court
335 S Broadway
|Hobart/Lawrence Municipal Ct
2990 South Pine Tree Rd
|Howard Municipal Court
2456 Glendale Ave
|Suamico Municipal Court
12781 Velp Avenue
|NWTC Traffic Safety School||920-498-5526||https://www.nwtc.edu/programs/fields-of-interest/law-public-safety-and-security/program-details/classes/traffic-safety|
|WI Dept of Transportation||https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/home.aspx|
|WI Dept of Revenue||https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/home.aspx|
|State Debt Collection||608-264-0345||https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/debtcoll.aspx|
You may request an extension to pay your debt, if you cannot pay your forfeiture in full by the due date. Requests for extensions and payments must be made on or prior to the due date given by the court.
Extension policies are as follows:
1st Extension Request prior to due date:
Defendant must pay a minimum of $50.00, per ticket (or amount agreed by the Judge), in order for an extension request to be considered. If granted, the court will grant you an additional 60 days to pay your forfeiture.
2nd Extension Request prior to due date:
Defendant must pay a minimum of one-half of the remaining balance, per ticket (or amount agreed by the Judge), in order for the extension request to be considered. If granted, the court will grant you an additional 60 days to pay your forfeiture. No further extension will be granted after the 2nd extension request.
No further extensions:
If the Judge ordered no further extensions, that means “no further extensions” and the defendant must pay the fine in full or alternative action will be taken
Extension requests and payment may be submitted online-payment plan payment plan form for further questions to call the clerk court at 920-660-2331.
Request an Extension
You will receive a return e-mail stating whether your extension was granted or not.